Motorcycle insurance protects you in the event you become involved in an accident. Every motorcyclist in Florida is required to carry insurance; however, understanding Florida’s motorcycle insurance requirements might be a little confusing. Unlike a lot of states, auto insurance laws and motorcycle insurance laws are not the same in Florida.
Motorcycle Riders Don’t Need No-Fault PIP Insurance Coverage in Florida
In Florida, auto and truck drivers are required to carry No-Fault, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage. A PIP insurance policy pays for any covered medical expenses resulting from an accident, regardless of who was at fault. These laws don’t apply to motorcycle riders unless they choose to ride without a helmet. If you ride without a helmet in Florida, you’ll be required to carry minimum medical insurance coverage of $10,000.
What insurance do you need to carry if you ride a motorcycle in Florida? In order to meet Florida’s minimum requirements for motorcycle insurance in Florida, you’ll need the following coverage:
- $10,000 for one person for bodily injury;
- $20,000 for two or more people for bodily injury; and
- $10,000 per crash for property damage liability.
In addition, you may want to consider purchasing uninsured motorist (UM) coverage. This will help pay your damages if you are injured in an accident involving an uninsured driver.
Obtaining Motorcycle Insurance in Florida
In Florida, you can get covered in three ways:
- Purchase a motorcycle insurance policy from a licensed insurance carrier
- Secure a Financial Responsibility Certificate
- Obtain a Self-Insurance Certificate from the Bureau of Financial Responsibility
Once you’ve purchased your policy, the insurance company will send the details of your coverage to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), where the information will be stored in their database. You should also carry your insurance information on you either as an insurance card issued by your carrier or a copy of your Financial Responsibility Certificate or Self-Insurance Certificate.
Penalties for Riding Without Meeting Florida’s Motorcycle Insurance Requirements
Despite the differences in the law, you’ll still face penalties if you’re involved in an accident and don’t have any insurance. You could find yourself having to pay for your own injuries, as well as the other parties involved in the accident. You may also have your riding privileges revoked, your registration and tag suspended, and be required to purchase bodily injury and property damage liability coverage.
Protect Your Rights After a Motorcycle Accident in Florida
Even the most careful motorcyclists can find themselves involved in an accident caused by a careless motorist. In a majority of accidents involving a car and a motorcycle, the driver of the automobile is at fault. In most cases, they were simply unaware of the motorcycle when they went to change a lane or pull into traffic.
If you’re a motorcycle rider who’s been injured in an accident that was caused by the carelessness of a motorist, state law gives you the right to seek compensation for the damages caused by your injuries. Tania Rivas and Rivas Law Group are here to protect your rights. Tania Rivas has successfully represented motorcycle riders injured in accidents in Winter Haven, Lutz, Lakeland, or other Central Florida communities, obtaining millions of dollars in settlements for her clients.
You only have a limited time in which to take legal action after an accident; if you wait too long, the court may refuse to hear your case. Contact Rivas Law Group today to schedule a free initial consultation with Lakeland motorcycle injury attorney Tania Rivas. Tania handles motorcycle accident cases on a contingency basis, which means there are no upfront costs for her clients, and she only collects her fee as a percentage of the cash settlement she secures for you.